School of Architecture
June 23,2014 15:52:14 readCount:3942
The School of Architecture, with 79 years of history, is one of the earliest schools established at South China University of Technology (SCUT). SCUT used to be named Xiang Qin University, founded in 1932, with the Technology Institute of National Sun Yat-sen University merged into the school in 1938. The School of Architecture was set up in 1997 with majors of Architecture, Civil Engineering,and the Architecture Design Institute of SCUT (the class-A architecture design institute of China founded in 1979).  The Civil Engineering department was separated from the School of Architecture in 2008. Currently, there are five departments in the School:Architecture, Urban Planning, the Architecture Design Institute of SCUT, National Key Laboratory of Subtropical Architecture, and South Architecture.
The School has one provincial top-ranking discipline ofGuangdong (Architecture). The School’s level-II disciplines are listed as National Cultivating Disciplines.  It has a complete education system for undergraduate, graduate and doctoral programs and post-doctoral researchers. It offers the first-grade discipline doctoral program, first-grade discipline post-doctorate station, 5 master’s degree programs, and 3 undergraduate programs. They have shown strong ability and outstanding performance in their careers. Many of them have become members of National Academies, National Design Masters, influential scholars and professors.
The School of Architecture has an engaged faculty with high comprehensive quality, knowledge, skill, and great dedication to teaching and to research. It boasts a qualified faculty of over 131 full-time teachers and researchers, including 26 full professors and 49 associate professors, of whom 2 professors are also members of national academies (including the Chinese Academy of Science and the Chinese Academy of Engineers): Prof. He Jingtang and Prof. Wu Suoxian.  More than 95% of the faculty have earned Ph.D. and master’s degrees. 
With more than 70 years of operation, the School of Architecture has always stood out in design education and research.  It has secured the key projects sponsored by National Natural Science Foundation of China, programs supported by Projects of International Cooperation and Exchanges NSFC, 12 general programs supported by a grant from the National Natural Science Foundation of China, and 4 sub-projects of the Science Research Project of the Eleventh Five-year Plan.
With China’s 11th 5-year Plan, the School of Architecture has gained remarkable achievements in both subject construction and research. The design work for Beijing Olympic Games, Shanghai World Expo, Guangzhou Asian Games, and The Memorial Hall of the Victims of the Nanjing Massacre by Japanese invaders are some of the best examples, all of which have had a profound influence at home and abroad. The school also has been honored the first-class award of World Cultural Heritage by UNESCO, more than 100 national and provincial gold and silver awards, and 10 provincial awards on research and teaching. It has taken the leading position in the country in the research of subtropical building science, the large-scaled public architecture design, design of urban planning, Lingnan landscape planning and design, rehabilitation and conservation of ancient architecture, Lingnan folk housing. In these aspects, the School ofArchitecture of SCUT demonstrates its individuality and plays a leading role in the country.
Tel:86-20-87112365  86-20-87111335  86-20-87111327